The Capitalist Kids - Lessons on Love, Sharing, and Hygiene

The Capitalist Kids
Lessons on Love, Sharing, and Hygiene 12" LP

[July 2012]

It's pretty rare that we fall in love with a band on first listen, but that was exactly the case when Austin, TX's The Capitalist Kids sent us their new recording. It's really hard not to get sucked in by the familiar pop-punk hooks first made popular by Lookout! Records bands like Green Day and The Mr. T Experience, but the new recording really had us yelling "Hell yes!" when the third song, "Parachute of Gold", kicked in with it's socially critical lyrics. It's easy to find a pop-punk band that can write a catchy song about a new or lost love, but when they can seamlessly flow between a song like that and a song about the growing income gap in this country, it's a really, really special thing. Other often neglected topics in the genre that can be found on this album include the cold-hearted Ayn Rand, Socialist as badge of honor, and the disappointment and anger at famous punk rockers punching women. Don't worry traditionalists, songs about girls are abundant as well.

Comes with a digital download code.


  1. On My Mind
  2. Eagle Thunder
  3. Parachute of Gold
  4. That's When I Knew
  5. Ayn (LP version)
  6. Broken World
  7. New Start
  8. Never Fear, Capitalism Is Here!
  9. We Are Each Ultimately Alone In the Universe
  10. Socialism Ain't a Dirty Word
  11. Weasel
  12. Luckiest
  13. I Dreamed I Saw Phil Ochs Last Night (Billy Bragg)
  14. Three-oh
  15. Ericacoustic

Pressing Info

1st press: 10 tests / 50 on black with blank labels (2012 tour press) / 100 on white / 350 on black