Sick Sick Birds - Gates of Home

Sick Sick Birds
Gates of Home 12" LP

[March 2012]

Baltimore's Sick Sick Birds present us with their second long-player which finds them exploring their history as a band with eleven songs that span their existence and their influences (The Clash, The Pixies, The Smiths, Jawbox...). These songs have more of a sense of urgency compared to some of their more whimsical offerings. The melancholy is still there but it's been imbued with a sense of "you lie in the bed you make". With Bobby Borte on a musical hiatus, Mike Hall has taken up primary song-writing duties and his songs speak of snippets of stories whose characters, for better or worse, have followed their own path and deal with whatever may come as best they can.

Comes with a digital download code.

Pressing Info

1st press: 10 tests / 100 on yellow / 400 on black


  1. Pick and Choose
  2. Conversation
  3. Marrietta
  4. Spinning Jenny
  5. One Town Over
  6. Caution Wires
  7. (Cross the) Shipping Lanes
  8. Olive
  9. Gates of Home
  10. New Shoe Leather
  11. Scaffold